John Pavlovitz – “How To Talk About Your Religious Beliefs (And Not Be A Total A-Hole)”

“I’m going to Hell.

I know, because several times a week someone (usually a relative stranger) alerts me to this fact.

Now, most people would take offense at another’s announcement of their own personal damnation or at least be mildly insulted by the messenger, but I always receive this news with a rather soothing mix of peace and genuine gratitude. Firstly, I am keenly aware that someone else’s belief about the ultimate destination of my soul has no actual bearing no whether or not I will indeed burn for all eternity. Secondly, if they do truly believe this, I feel strangely indebted to them for alerting me of the matter.”

and

“I want to share my faith perspective with others and I don’t want to be an a-hole as I do. I think that’s true of most people you encounter.

I fall and fail, and I forget these ideas daily, but I wake up every single day expectantly in search of them again.

As you talk about stuff that really matters, may you remember that people really matter too.

Be kind and be encouraged.”

via How To Talk About Your Religious Beliefs (And Not Be A Total A-Hole) | john pavlovitz.

John Pavlovitz – “How To Talk About Your Religious Beliefs (And Not Be A Total A-Hole)”

Leave a Reply

